Bennett County voters say yes to Opt Out one vote

By Tim Huether

The results are in for the Primary Election for Bennett County and unofficially, it appears the Opt Out passed by a single vote, 251 for, 250 against. 

In other contests, the Register of Deeds had three Democrats battling, with Jaci Clifford garnering 59 percent of the vote with 99. Kristine Novak had 24 percent with 41 and Tracy McConnachie with 17 percent at 28 votes.

On the Republican side of the race, Angela Hicks ran away with it with 78 percent of the votes at 240. Kara Jo Hancock tallied 67 votes.

The County Commissioners race was a tight one with four candidates battling for three spots on the General Election ballot. The top three move on with Rod R. Kirk pulling in 30 percent of the vote with 237 votes. Incumbent Jeff Slattery collected 28 percent with 219 votes and Judd W. Schomp pulled in 197 votes. Veldon Thayer was fourth with 137 votes.

In the State Senate race for Dist. 27, Democrat Jim Bradford  had 97 votes to 60 for Red Dawn Foster in Bennett County voting.

For Dist. 27 State Representative in Bennett County voting, Margaret Ross had 80 votes, Nicole Littlewhiteman 53 and Peri Pourier 51.

Constitutional Amendment Y: An amendment to the South Dakota Constitution revising certain provisions relating to the rights of crime victims, Bennett County voted 344 yes to 147 no.

For governor, Bennett County voted for Kristi Noem, with 226 votes to 98 for Marty Jackley.

For U.S. House of Representatives on the Republican side, Shantel Krebs pulled in the most votes in Bennett County with 118, followed by Neal Tapil with 100 and Dusty Johnson with 95.

Statewide results will be added soon.

For local results, you can go to the following website:

For statewide results, go to:

502 Second Avenue, Martin, SD 57551 • 605-685-6866 •