The votes are in....Williams stays Bennett County Sheriff

By Taylor Risse


The results are in and the Bennett County Sheriff's Election that everyone has  been talking about, ends with incumbent Paul Williams gathering 73 percent with 805 votes and Thomas McMillan taking the other 27 percent with 301 votes.

In other local contests the Register of Deeds race was tightly won by Jaci Clifford garnering 54 percent with 595 votes and Republican Angela Hicks gathering 46 percent with 511.

The Bennett County Commissioner race was close with five candidates battling for three spots. The three new Bennett County Commissioners are incumbent Jeff Slattery collected 24 percent with 625 votes, Rod Kirk, pulling in 23 percent with 609 votes, and Judd Schomp gathered 22 percent with 566. Keely Clausen came in fourth with 16 percent and 411 votes with William Cummings pulling 15 percent and 392.

In Bennett County voting for District 27  State Senate Bill Hines brought in 60 percent with 658 votes. Red Dawn Foster pulled in 40 percent with 434. Across District 27, Red Dawn Foster came in on top with 59 percent with 3,668 and Bill Hines pulled in 41 percent with 2,598.

The race for District 27 House of Representatives was easily won in Bennett County by Steve Livermont and Elizabeth May who pulled in 35 percent with 713 votes and 33 percent with 674 votes, respectively. Peri Pourier came in third earning 17 percent with 342 votes and Margaret Ross pulling 15 percent with 310 votes. Across District 27 this race is eligible for a possible recount due to the closeness of the race. Unofficially Peri Pourier and Steve Livermont will move on as District 27 Representatives gathering 26 percent with 2,873 votes and 25 percent with 2,687 votes, respectively. Margaret Ross is a close third pulling 25 percent with 2,680 votes and Elizabeth May a close fourth earning 24 percent with 2,363 votes.

A tight race was fought for the Governor position with the lead changing many times throughout the night. Kristi Noem came out on top in Bennett County earning 50 percent with 553 votes and Billie Sutton gathering 47 percent with 523 votes. Kurt Evans pulled two percent with 26 votes. In state voting, the race was just as tight but Kristi Noem will be the new governor of South Dakota along with the first woman Governor of South Dakota. Throughout the state she earned 51 percent with 172,894 votes, Billie Sutton picked up 48 percent with 161,416 and Kurt Evans gathered one percent with 4,844.

In Bennett County voting for the United State's Representative Dusty Johnson won the race taking 56 percent with 604 votes, Tim Bjorkman pulled 41 percent with 438 votes, Ron Wieczorek gathered two percent with 21 votes, and George D. Hendrickson pulled one percent with 14 votes. Across the state, Dusty Johnson took 60 percent with 202,673 votes.

Statewide results will be added soon.

To see more election results please see:

502 Second Avenue, Martin, SD 57551 • 605-685-6866 •